Harry and Neville

Chapter Thirty-two:

Harry waited in the tearoom, using a Hovering Charm to hold the tea in front of him as Neville looked for the right flavor of biscuits. He�d wanted to talk to Neville about Ginny but now that he was here, he didn�t quite know what to say.

�Alright there, Harry?� Neville said as he came over to him and he nodded at his friend.

�Are you sure you�ve got enough biscuits, Neville?�

Harry looked at Neville�s arms, which were loaded with strawberry, lemon-lime and blackberry treats. It was enough to feed a small army.

�I didn�t know what kind you wanted, but I know Ginny likes the lemon-lime ones. Sometimes, anyway.�

Harry shook his head and they made their way back slowly to Hermione�s floor. Harry used his wand to float the tea directly in front of him and helped Neville with what he was carrying as well.

�How is she, by the way,� Neville asked quietly.

Harry glanced at Neville and then stopped as they reached a landing on the stairs.

�She�s good. But I reckon it hasn�t been that long since you�ve seen her.�

Neville nodded and the two of them stood there, uncomfortable.

�It feels like longer than a few days, though.�

Harry knew what he meant. He could hardly believe it himself.

�Neville, look-�

�It�s okay Harry. I don�t... I mean, I don�t want you to think I don�t like you or-�

�Neville, I�m the one who should be apologizing to you-�

�No, it�s okay. Ginny and I, well, we were good for each other at a time, but now I know it�s right that she�s moved on.�

�Yeah, well, I could have been a better Gryffindor about it. I definitely could have been a better friend about it. We fought together against Voldemort, Neville. I...� Harry stopped. He wasn�t sure what to say.

�She loves you. She always has.�

Harry looked at Neville, who offered him a small smile. �I�ve always known it. I�m happy for the two of you, honest. Just one look at her face today and I knew it was the best thing. I�ve only ever wanted Ginny to be happy, Harry. And if that is with someone other than me then I reckon I can�t really feel too bad about it, in the end. I�m glad it�s you Harry.�

Harry closed his eyes for a second and then shook his head. He knew Neville�s words were supposed to make him feel better but instead they left him feeling ten times worse. He was a selfish, selfish man.

�Neville, please, just let me say this and then we can go up these stairs and we can go on with everything... but... look, I did you a disservice when I came back. I let Ginny know my intentions and I cast aside your feelings in the matter altogether. I only thought of myself and what I wanted, Neville. I do not deserve your friendship. Actually, I�d probably feel a whole lot better if you�d just clobber me one.�

�I might feel better too, actually.�

Harry looked at the man across from him in surprise and realized that Neville was telling the truth. For a moment neither of them said anything, and then Neville shook his head.

�It would just be silly for us to fight, Harry. What would be the point? She�d still love you more. Truth is Harry, I love you too, you know? We grew up together. I always considered you a good mate and a good one to have on your side in a fight. I don�t know what I�d do if we were suddenly on different sides of the fence. It�s not worth it really.�

Harry again felt shame and realized how much he�d always underestimated Neville. He said the only thing he could.

�Neville, you�re an amazing person. I�m honored I know you.�

Neville turned pink but then smiled. �I feel the same Harry.�

The two continued up the stairs in silence. Harry still felt the tinge of shame around him, but he reckoned that would pass with time. Neville spoke as they walked down the hallway.

�Besides, seeing you and Ginny together... as odd as it sounds, it makes me happy. She�s loved you a long time, Harry.�

Harry looked at his friend and nodded. �I know she has.�

�Good,� Neville said firmly and then paused when they reached Hermione�s door. �Then don�t mess it up. Because if you do, I really will be mad at you and I may just take you up on that offer to clobber you.�

�Fair enough, Neville. But don�t worry, I don�t plan on messing anything up with that girl. She�s stuck with me.�

Harry and Neville opened the door to find that Ron had made it back to his spot by Hermione�s side. His face lit up when he saw the biscuits Neville was holding.

�Ah-ha! The men of the hour! Harry, nice to see you�re among the living. Say Neville, you wouldn�t have any Blackberry biscuits in that mess would you?�

Ron got up to pull the food from Neville�s arms. Harry shook his head and threw one of the boxes at his friend.

�Try this you hungry git.�

�Ah, thanks Harry!� Ron said with a big smile as he tore open the box. Harry floated the tea over to the table next to Hermione and then realized Ginny wasn�t around.

�She�s gone to check on the girl you brought in last night. She shouldn�t be gone long,� Hermione said to him, noticing his look.

Harry nodded nonchalantly and took his seat at her side, taking one of the cups of tea for himself. He looked at the book on Hermione�s lap.

�Enjoying it so far?�

Hermione smiled at him. �Of course! I was just telling Ron that we should try to implement some of these Muggle Safe Guarding spells. This one with the Diatrice stones sounds really interesting-�

�Hermione! Give it a rest, okay? Great job on giving her yet more books, Harry. I�m beginning to think I should have bought her a ring that looked like a book instead!� Ron turned to Neville, taking another box of biscuits from him. �Here, Hermione, eat something. They�ll let me take you home if you look well fed and rested, you know. Or maybe you just like being stuck-�

As Hermione and Ron began to bicker, Harry shook his head at Neville. Moving away from Hermione, Harry stood over by the wall and Neville joined him, a small smile on his face.

�I reckon getting engaged doesn�t really change anything for them, does it?�

Harry raised his eyes and watched his friends do what they did best.

�No, it doesn�t seem to have changed anything. But then, that is what makes them Hermione and Ron.�

Neville nodded and munched on a biscuit. �Harry... do you think...� Neville paused, and turned slightly pink in the face.

Harry frowned at Neville. �About?�

�Well, it�s just... I mean... okay... Hermione and Ron... supposed to be together, right? And you and Ginny,� Neville�s voice sped up slightly, �of course. But how do you know when you�re with the right person?�

Harry looked at Neville blankly. �I don�t know Neville. I think you just... know.�

�But you didn�t know it about Ginny. I mean, not at first.�

Harry nodded. �I was fooling myself, Neville. You know that.�

Neville nodded. �Right. Right. So I reckon when it�s meant to be you just know, right?�

�Well, I hadn�t really thought about it like that. I reckon you just meet someone who makes you happy. I�m not sure about meant to be, really-� Harry stopped, suddenly recalling the feeling of completeness he had felt holding Ginny in his arms. He remembered that feeling of never wanting to be without her, ever again. He looked at his friend and shrugged. �Okay, perhaps there is a bit of that meant to be stuff in there, but... well, why are you wondering Neville?�

Neville turned a bit pink. �Just... curious. I�ve been wondering about a lot of things lately. A lot of things I took for granted.�

Harry nodded. He understood those thoughts better than anyone did. Not wanting to sound like a prat yet still wanting to comfort his friend, he awkwardly patted Neville on the back. �Don�t worry Neville, it�ll happen. I know that�s rich coming from me since I stole your girl, but-�

Neville shook his head. �No, Harry, I just...�

Neville was interrupted by Ginny returning. Harry felt his heart beat faster in his chest as he looked at her. As long as he lived he would never tire of the pleasure he felt each time he looked at her. She looked over at Ron and Hermione, now busy making up and then her eyes drifted to him and Neville. She smiled when she saw them and her eyes lingered on his. Harry felt the effect all the way down to his toes. He realized it had been way too long since he�d taken the time to give her a kiss, knowing full well of course that it probably hadn�t even been an hour. Harry knew then that when you were in love, time apart went by slower than it did when you were together.

Ginny walked over to them. She smiled at Neville and nodded at him.

�And how are you two?� she asked them brightly. �Everything okay?�

Neville nodded. �We were just staying out of the crossfire of Hermione and Ron.�

Ginny flicked her head towards the bed and then smiled. �Well, they look as though they�re done firing shots now, don�t they?�

Indeed, to Harry it looked as though Hermione and Ron had completely forgotten the three of them were there.

�Er... why don�t we leave them alone for awhile?� he asked the other two and they readily agreed.

Once outside, the three of them stared around at the floor. Harry wanted to ask after Winifred but didn�t want to seem as though he was excluding Neville from the conversation. Ginny had similar ideas, it seemed.

�Would you like to join Harry and me for a bite to eat Neville?�

Neville looked up at her and smiled. �I would. But I won�t. I�ve got to get back to the greenhouse. I just stopped by to let Hermione know-� Neville paused and looked at the door to Hermione�s room. �Oh, well, I reckon it�ll keep. You two have work to do anyway, right?�

Harry nodded and Neville shrugged. �I�ll see you two around then?�

�Of course, Neville,� Ginny said in earnest.

They watched him walk down the hallway and then looked at each other.

�How was Winifred, any change?� Harry asked her.

Ginny shook her head. �She�s still out. They did manage to get the wounds on her stomach to finally close and Sarah says she must be doing better because she�s not as cold as before. I don�t know. It�s almost as though she doesn�t want to wake.�

Harry frowned. �Well, I reckon she may not want to.�

Ginny was staring off into space with a strange look on her face.

�Er... Ginny?�

She blinked and looked at him. �Sorry, it�s just something about this feels familiar to me. I felt it last night when we found her. But I can�t seem to put my finger on it.�

�Maybe it�s from the vision you had?�

�No, it�s something more. Sarah said that Winifred was obviously under the influence of a powerful Sleeping Draught. There�s no telling when she�ll wake up. At this point I�m not sure I want her to.�

Harry looked at her, wondering what she meant. She smiled sadly.

�You�re right, she�s better off asleep for now, isn�t she? She doesn�t have to relive anything while she�s sleeping.�

Harry nodded and pulled her into his arms. Yes, it had been far too long since he had touched her. Harry pulled her head away from his chest and gave her a light kiss.

�Why is it when you do that I seemingly forget everything that�s been bothering me?�

Harry smiled. �My animal magnetism?�

Ginny�s eyes sparkled with a mischievous glint.

�What?� he asked her.

�Well, I just realized that we�ve done everything we were supposed to do. We saw Hermione and Ron-�

�We checked in on Winifred-�

Ginny nodded. �I suppose we could stop by the office and see how Dex is coming along. See if the painting turned up.�

�Hmm. We could. Or we could go back to my flat for some... lunch.�

Ginny laughed quietly. �You know as well as I do Harry that you don�t have any food at your flat.�

�Well, maybe we could improvise something. I am a wizard, you are a witch.�

Ginny smiled and started leading him down the hallway. �We could stop and pick something up.�

�That would take too long.�

Ginny shook her head at him. �Maybe good things come to those who wait, Harry.�

Harry stopped and glanced into the room they�d just passed. Checking to make sure it was empty, he pulled her inside with him and placed her against the wall, kissing her again.

�What did you have in mind, Ginny?� he asked her when he finally pulled away, feeling as though he�d just flown around the Quidditch pitch on a new broom.

�Well,� Ginny said, her voice slightly breathless as well, �we could... get something to cook and then... hmm...Harry.�

Harry pulled his mouth away from her neck and smiled at her. �It sounds lovely. What did you want to make for me?�

Ginny shook her head. �Me? I�ve already cooked one meal, I think it�s your... hmm. Maybe we should forgo the food, then?� she asked him, her voice a whisper.

Harry stared into her eyes and brushed her hair off her face. �Maybe. I wouldn�t want us to get distracted and burn my new flat down or anything. I just got unpacked. We don�t have a good track record as far as paying attention to hot food goes.�

Ginny giggled, remembering the melted cauldron. �Maybe we should go to my place then. I do have that new cauldron to try out.�

Harry moved closer to her and whispered what he thought they should really be trying out in her ear. Ginny�s eyes widened and she blushed, making him even more excited. He willed himself to pull away from her and took her hand instead.

�I think you were on the right track the first time, Gin. Let�s not worry about food, just yet.�

Ginny nodded. �Okay.�

Harry smiled. �Race you?�

�Race me where?�

�My place, of course.�

Ginny stood closer to him. �What does the winner get?�

Harry smiled. �Whatever they want?�

Ginny raised an eyebrow at him. �Deal. But first... here, let me.�

Ginny reached out and pulled the glasses from his face before he could stop her. He saw her hands in a jumbled movement and wasn�t sure what she�d just done.

�Hey, what�s the big-�

Ginny brought her mouth close to his ear. �Just leveling the playing field, Potter. See you at home.�

She was gone before he could stop her and he heard a soft plopping noise as his glasses fell somewhere behind him. Cursing, he squinted and bent down. He felt his glasses slip through his fingers. Oh, she�s really in trouble, she�s put a spell on them. He squinted and saw his glasses resting in front of him. As he reached out to grab them they moved away, as though they were playing with him. Moving slowly forward, Harry moved his hand to the right and watched as the fuzzy blob that was his glasses scooted to the left. But Harry Potter hadn�t been the youngest seeker in an age for nothing. Anticipating the movement of the glasses he had brought his other hand to the left and grabbed onto them as they slid right to him. With a smile of satisfaction, he used his wand and said �Finite Incantateum�, ending whatever spell she had used on them. He placed them back on his face and grinned. Oh yeah, Ginny was really in trouble now.

***

Later that evening Arthur Weasley made his way through the Ministry halls with a spring in his step. He�d promised Molly he�d try to be home early this evening and so far, he�d managed to keep that promise. Of course, he wasn�t out of the building yet...

�Minister!� A voice echoed across the Atrium floor as he made his way to the Apparating queue. Frowning, Arthur turned around and looked to see his over- achieving assistant, Spencer Dockfield, running towards him.

�Yes, Spence? I thought I�d said everything else could wait till Monday?�

�Sorry sir, but this just came up from the Investigative unit. It�s about your daughter-in-law�s case. I thought you�d like to see it immediately.�

�My future daughter-in-law,� Arthur said absentmindedly and took the folder from him. He moved to a corner near one of the non-floo fireplaces and sat down. After a moment he frowned up at his assistant.

�Is this right? This is what Longbottom said when they questioned him this afternoon?�

�Yes, sir.�

Arthur shook his head. It had to be a coincidence, right? He sighed.

�Spencer, please send an owl to my wife explaining that I am stopping by St. Mungo�s before coming home. I need to talk to Ron and Hermione about something.�

His assistant nodded and took off towards his office. Arthur stared into the empty fireplace and suddenly had a very bad feeling. He glanced up and caught Donald Fagan and Amelia Bones walking across the Atrium together, their heads bent in some private conversation. Arthur realized then that the rumor he�d heard about Fagan being Amelia�s choice to replace her was very much true.

Oh yes, he had a very bad feeling indeed.

***



2004-02-09 6:47 p.m.



prev|current|next