Everyone Knows

Chapter Thirty-One:

�And this painting you mentioned, the one that caused you to have such a significant vision, what happened to it?�

Amelia Bones gave Ginny a piercing look. Ginny felt herself turn red but was saved from answering by Harry.

�Actually, her partner, Dex, is looking at that. As soon as he comes back in, I�ll have him stop by your office with his... findings.�

Ginny glanced at him and bit her lip. She nodded at Amelia.

Amelia lowered her head to their report again and Ginny felt herself begin to breathe. They didn�t know the painting was lost, not for certain. It could still turn up, of course.

Yeah, right, Ginny thought and she frowned. Why was she so certain the painting was gone forever?

�Very well, Potter. Miss Weasley, I�d like to commend you on your work yesterday. The healer at St. Mongo�s said that Miss Eaton was very close to dying when you found her last night, thankfully you found her and they have been able to stabilize her,� Amelia paused and sat back in her chair. She gave both of them a shrewd look.

�I�d also like to commend the both of you on finding a way to work compatibly together as well. You both seem to have set aside your differences to work on this case. I will admit that when I assigned Potter to take over your office Miss Weasley, I had no idea you would have a problem with that.�

Ginny felt her face heat up again but refused to look anywhere but directly into Amelia Bones�s eyes. She didn�t know whether to smile or nod. She swallowed instead.

�Yes, well, Harry and I,� Ginny paused, not sure how to put it. �Harry and I have come to an agreement about how to tackle this case. We both understand it is important to work together to find the missing girls. I understand why you felt it necessary to put him in charge. My department is-�

�Your department is small, Miss Weasley and Mr. Potter has had some luck in finding people before. That is all there was to it, I assure you. I did rather hope the two of you would prove to be a very useful pairing. Now, about the other girls...� Amelia Bones paused and looked through the folders on her desk. �Ah yes, they were not missing, after all. They were on holiday together; neither mentioned leaving London to their parents. So it appears that for right now, we have only to focus on this unfortunate business with the Eaton�s.�

Harry and Ginny shared a glance.

Ginny shook her head. �Well, that�s great news, of course. But...� she paused, not sure how to tell Amelia that her feelings regarding the painting made her believe that something else was wrong. �I can�t help shake the feeling that what happened to Winifred Eaton isn�t a stand-alone occurrence, Madam Bones.�

�Did you get a sense of something more?�

�Well, I... it�s hard to put into words really, but... I did get the sense that whoever did this to Miss Eaton had... more that he needed to do.�

Ginny paused, realizing that as she said it, it was true. Something about Bowering�s premonition came back to her.

�I think what is going on is only just starting,� she added.

Madam Bones frowned at her. She removed her monocle and sighed.

�Well, then, it is fortunate that I did pair the two of you together. Mr. Potter, I want you to stay on with Miss Weasley to assist her. I�ll also be having a meeting with the head of the Wizard Patrol, to see if we can have more of a presence around town. But I do admit that at this point, until we have another unexplained disappearance, my hands are tied. I can�t very well base extra work on a feeling,� Amelia paused and gave Ginny a small smile, �no matter how much I trust the seer who is having it. Your father was much relieved to know that you had such luck last night, Miss Weasley. I believe he requested that you and Mr. Potter stop by his office before heading off to St. Mungo�s.�

Harry nodded and Ginny hid a smile, remembering their earlier conversation. She reckoned Harry could stand to be interrogated by her father, after all. Payback for his little stunt this morning.

Yes, well, you didn�t fight him too much did you? Why was her inner voice always so annoying?

Amelia dismissed them and they left her office. As he closed the door, Harry smiled at her.

�Well, looks like we�re stuck with each other for awhile.�

Ginny smiled. �Yeah, don�t know what I�m going to do with you.�

�Well, I know what I�m going to-�

�Harry.�

�What?�

�We should probably not let what happened in my office happen again. Amelia trusts us and respects us. Let�s not blow that.�

Harry nodded. �I�ll try,� he paused and grinned widely at her �you could be less up for it though.�

They started moving down the hallway and Ginny shook her head. �Me? I am in perfect control of my hormones, thank you very much. I-�

Harry looked down the hallway and then kicked open one of the doors they had just passed, pulling her in with him. She realized it was a broom closet. Before she could even ask, he was kissing her and she almost forgot the point she had been trying to make.

�What did I just get done saying?� she asked a moment later, feeling breathless.

�Well, we�re not in your office, are we?�

�Yes, but-�

�Besides, I just proved my point.�

�And what point was that?�

�You�re in about as much control of your hormones as I am. We�re in love, Ginny. We�re supposed to act like this.�

Ginny shook her head. �No. We�re supposed to be adult and mature. We�re working-�

She paused as Harry started kissing her neck. She sighed, putting her hands in his hair.

�Well, I�m feeling very adult, aren�t you?� he whispered against her skin.

�No. I feel like a teenager with her first crush.�

Harry pulled back and smiled at her. She blushed after she realized the truth of what she�d said.

�We can�t keep groping each other like fiends,� she persisted.

�I was not groping you. But I can start-�

�Harry!�

�Oh, fine,� Harry took his hands away from her and leaned back against the wall.

She folded her arms and looked at him. �Now what? You�re going to pout because I don�t think we should sneak around having a snog every two seconds?�

�I can�t help it, you drive me to distraction,� Harry reached out and touched her cheek. She titled her head and his hand worked its way to her hair.

�And you me, in more ways than one, but Harry we have other things to worry about.�

Harry sighed and removed his hand. �You�re right. You�re right. I reckon I just got caught up in feeling like a normal man for a change. You know, someone whose biggest problem was making the girl he loves feel irresistible. Well, should we see your father?�

Ginny laughed and shook her head. �Shouldn�t we tell Dex that Amelia will expect a word about that painting?�

�Nah. That can keep. Besides, maybe he�ll find it in the mean time.�

Ginny frowned. It bothered her that the painting had gone missing. It wasn�t like Dex to be forgetful or to lose things like that. Had someone somehow broken in and stolen it? That seemed just as unlikely.

�Uh oh. You�ve got that frown that says you�re displeased about something.�

Ginny looked at him. �I just wish I knew what had happened to that painting.�

�Maybe the Eaton�s took it?�

�Harry, I believe Dex, I know you don�t want me to, but... if he says he put it on the desk, he put it on the desk.�

�Okay. So what happened to it?�

�I don�t know,� Ginny admitted. �Oh well, we aren�t finding it in here, at any rate. Come on, let�s go see Dad.�

After making sure no one was around to see them sneak out of the broom closet, they headed down the hallway and made their way to the lift. They reached the floor that held her father�s office and followed a couple of yellow Ministry memo�s to his door. His secretary greeted them as they came in.

�Ah! Ginny. He�s expecting you. Thought you got lost on the way from Amelia�s office. Go right in.�

Ginny felt her face flush and glared at Harry who was biting his lip as though holding back a grin.

He is entirely too cheeky for words, Ginny thought to herself. She didn�t know if she�d be able to stand this new Harry.

�Ah! There�s my daughter!� Arthur greeted them from his desk and got up when they came in. He walked over to Ginny and gave her a bone-crushing hug.

�I say, it feels like I haven�t seen you in ages, my dear. And Harry! Welcome back! With everything that�s been going on, you haven�t even been by the Burrow yet!�

Ginny watched as Harry�s skin turned pink. �Yeah, sorry about that. Been a... busy week.�

�Of course, of course,� Arthur said, and Ginny noticed a strange twinkle in her father�s eyes. He knows, she thought to herself.

�Er... you wanted to see us Dad?�

�Ah yes. Won�t you two sit down. Oh, Ginny, I believe you missed a button on that shirt.� Ginny glanced down and realized her robe was unhooked from the embrace in the broom closest. And she had indeed missed a button on the shirt she�d borrowed from Harry. It was probably closed the first time I put it on, she thought grimly. She ignored the amusement she saw in Harry�s eyes and hoped her father did too.

With a flustered movement she buttoned it quickly and then hooked her robe again, smoothing it into place. She sat down in front of her father, who was now sitting at his desk again. Harry sat next to her, his leg brushing against hers. Ginny pulled away quickly. With mounting horror she realized that her father was laughing at them.

�Ah yes, well. Er... good to see you two together, of course. Working everything out since yesterday?�

Ginny nodded, unable to trust her voice.

�And Neville? How�s he, Ginny?�

Ginny stared at her father. �Er... well, fine, Dad. We er... well, we broke up, actually. I�m sorry I didn�t tell you sooner.�

Arthur shook his head. �Ah well, it�s for the best I�m sure. I will miss Neville of course, but I trust you and he parted on good company at least?� Her father paused and gave her a knowing look. Ginny felt like sinking down lower in her chair, but she nodded in the affirmative to him. He turned his attention to Harry. �And you Harry, how have you been enjoying getting back into the swing of things?�

Harry smiled faintly, as though finally realizing that her father was being far too indulgent with them. �It�s been... interesting.�

�Ah. Yes. Of course,� her dad looked at both of them, a smile playing on his face. �You two received my note this morning, of course. About the inquiry into what happened with Hermione?�

�Er... yes, er.. Dad,� Ginny paused, suddenly feeling a need to explain herself. �I was at Harry�s because-�

�Because you�re mad for each other? Yes, yes I know. �Bout time too, if you don�t mind me saying so Harry. I had a talk with Remus this morning, by the way. He says to tell you he expects a nice visit soon.�

Harry and Ginny looked at each other and then at Arthur Weasley.

�You�re not angry with me?� Ginny asked after a moment, incredulous.

�Why should I be angry that my only daughter is in love? Isn�t that an occasion for happiness?�

Ginny felt as though she had just woke up in someone else�s life. �Er... Dad... shouldn�t you be upset or...throwing Harry through a door or something?�

�Gee, thanks Ginny,� Harry said nervously.

Arthur laughed at them. �Ginny, you are my youngest child and my only daughter. I of course, want you to be safe, loved and most of all, happy. Furthermore, you�re 22 years old, soon to be 23 and I think you�re sensible enough to be... carrying on your affairs in a proper way. As for Harry, well... I�m sure he knows that should he do anything to hurt you he will have the wrath of all that is Weasley fall upon him,� Arthur paused, seeming to briefly enjoy the uncomfortable expression that had landed on Harry�s face. �And let me assure you Harry, her brother Bill is quite handy with the wand in his own right, as you well know. I�m sure he�d be quite upset if your intentions were less than honorable.�

Ginny stared at her father and then looked at Harry, who seemed unable to look away from the man he�d known as a father figure most of his life. All his earlier cheekiness seemed to have disappeared as well.

�Er... yes, Sir... Mr. Weasley, I ah... well, see Ginny and I-�

Ginny smiled then as she watched her father�s eye twitch and knew that he was trying to keep a straight face. She reached out and took Harry�s hand.

�We�re very happy Dad. Thank you.�

�Splendid! Exactly what I wanted to hear. Now, off to St. Mungo�s with the both of you. Ron and Hermione are dying to see you, I think. And Ginny, please, do tell your mother sometime today. You know how she hates being kept in the dark about things.�

�Right. I know. And I promise.�

�Good! Well, I shall see you tomorrow if not sooner. We�re having a big celebration for Hermione and Ron, of course. I�ll be sure to let Bill know how you two are doing,� her father said as he winked at Harry, who seemed to have turned two shades of pale at the thought.

�Dad, stop it. He doesn�t know you�re making fun.�

Harry stood up and then stopped as the reached the door. Taking a deep breath, he walked back and shook her father�s hand.

�I er... well, she�s in good hands, Arthur. I won�t let anything happen to her.�

Ginny shook her head. Men, honestly. �Are you two done talking as though I were fine tea cup? I�m not breakable you know.�

�It�s something among men, my dear,� her father said fondly. �And don�t worry Harry, I know she�s in good hands.�

Ginny opened her father�s office and walked out. Really, as though she were incapable of looking out for herself. Harry caught up with her in the hallway.

�Whew. Well, that went better than I thought.�

She raised an eyebrow at him. �You two practically had me married and settled in a house, with small babies all around me... in good hands, honestly. As though my own hands weren�t good enough.�

�Well, I wouldn�t go that far-�

�You�re lucky my family likes you so much, Harry. My dad could have been really cross or yelled at me for being a loose woman-�

�You�re a loose woman? Wow, I never knew-�

�Hah. You know, I think I liked you better before we became involved. You�re way too confident sometimes for my taste. You�re-�

Harry stopped her and took her hand. �I�m sorry. But it�s your fault you know.�

She looked at him, questioning.

�You make me feel as though I could take on the world. Er... well, on again, at any rate. I reckon I feel as though there�s nothing I can�t do now. It�s a rather odd feeling, actually. It feels-�

�Freeing?� Ginny said softly.

Harry nodded. They were heading back to her office to pick up the books he�d wanted to give to Hermione. They stepped onto the lift and Ginny shook her head at him.

�Just a little while ago we were fighting about Dex and now you�re telling me how sure you feel. You never cease to surprise me, Harry. Honestly and truly.�

�Would you like it any other way?�

She stopped and looked at him as they got off the lift. �No, I reckon not.�

�Good. Because I�m not about to change or go back to being boring, sullen me.�

�Harry, you were never boring.�

His eyes widened at hers as they made their way down the hallway.

�I notice you did not say sullen.�

Ginny smiled. �Well, I�m not going to start lying to you now.� They had reached her office door and she watched as Harry ran in to pick up the books he�d left on her desk. Looking in, she noticed that Dex hadn�t come back yet from this morning. She frowned. Where was he?

Ginny and Harry made their way back towards the lift and down to the Atrium to Disapparate. As they reached the queue, Harry pulled her closer and all thoughts of Dex left her head.

�I love you,� he whispered.

�I know,� she said. She smiled at him and then thought of St. Mungo�s. She couldn�t wait to talk to Hermione.

***

�Neville you shouldn�t feel responsible.�

Hermione was trying to reassure a distraught Neville from blaming himself for her illness.

�But it�s my fault you got the bad Silphium. I should have found a better dealer to get it from. I knew they�d be the wrong sort-�

Neville was interrupted by Harry and Ginny poking their heads in the door. Hermione felt her heart leap when she saw them. Ginny in particular looked very happy indeed. Oh, there�s been some developments between those two, most definitely, she thought to herself. Remembering Neville�s feelings, she glanced up at him. He too was looking at Ginny.

Ginny smiled at Hermione and she only faltered a little bit when she saw Neville. Harry stood behind her, his cheeks slightly pink. He was holding what looked like two books.

�Harry! Are those books? I now officially forgive you two for not visiting me sooner. Bring them over!� Hermione said, hoping to forgo any awkwardness.

Harry smiled at her and stepping out from behind Ginny, he glanced at Neville and then went over to her.

�We reckoned that in-between all the engagement festivities, you might like a little light reading. This should last you at least an hour or so, Hermione.�

Hermione reached out and pulled the two thick volumes of spell books from his hands, both similar to the ones she had seen at Harry�s, days earlier.

�Oh! These are like yours! The ones from America that I really wanted to read.�

�Yeah, consider them on loan,� Harry bent down gave her a hug and glanced at Neville and Ginny who were now trying not to look at one another.

�Er... hi Neville, everything alright?�

Neville looked at Harry. �Hiya Harry. I�m good. I just... stopped by to see Hermione. I er... didn�t know-�

Ginny seemed to come to her senses then and Hermione watched as her friend turned a bit pink. �Oh! Neville! I was supposed to let you know how she was, oh I�m so sorry. I just... sorry.�

�It�s okay, Ginny. Reckon you�ve been um... busy,� Neville�s eyes flicked over to Harry who Hermione now noticed looked almost as pink as Ginny. Oh well, it�s like that is it? Hermione thought to herself with a smile.

�Harry, why don�t you take Neville down to the tea room. He promised to bring me back some fresh biscuits.�

Harry�s eyes widened at the idea and Hermione smiled sweetly at him. But surprisingly, both men nodded their heads.

�Er... yeah sure, Hermione. Do you want anything Ginny?�

Ginny was biting her lip and trying to not smile at Hermione. �Er... sure Harry, a nice tea maybe?�

�And you wanted strawberry biscuits, right Hermione?� Neville asked.

�Yes, Neville and thank you.�

The two women watched them leave and then burst out laughing when the door had shut.

Ginny walked over to Hermione�s bed and sat down upon the edge.

�Hermione, I can�t believe you just did that.�

�What?�

�Throwing Neville and Harry together like that. I reckon that wasn�t very nice.�

�Well, Neville and I had a nice talk before you two showed up. Don�t worry. He�s more understanding about Harry then you might think. Not that Harry knows that,� Hermione giggled. �I�d love to listen to their conversation though.�

�Really? Neville�s okay with everything? We ended things well enough, but I... I don�t want to seem as though we�re rubbing it in his face or anything.�

Hermione looked at her friend, noticing the glow that seemed to just be emanating from her. �Well, I�m afraid that you won�t be able to keep it a secret. One look at you Ginny and Neville would have to be blind not to notice it.�

�Notice what?�

�How incredible happy you look. You�re practically glowing! In fact, I�m insanely jealous. I�m the one who just got engaged you know, and everyone�s been telling me how pale I look. It�s quite the blow to the ego,� Hermione paused and smiled. �That is, it would be, if I cared about that sort of stuff.�

�Oh!� Ginny reached out and took her hand. �Your ring. Oh geeze, Hermione, I feel horrible I haven�t seen it yet, let me see what my brother managed to wrangle for you...� Ginny paused as she looked at the ring that now glimmered from Hermione�s finger. �Why... that�s quite nice! Ron actually came through, didn�t he?�

�Oh yes,� Hermione said smugly. She looked down at her ring and felt unbelievably loved. �In fact, I�d say he�s outdone himself. Did you know it changes colors? It turns darker when the love is stronger. I have to admit I�m pleased with the hue myself!�

Ginny laughed and shook her head. �Well, it�s beautiful and no less than you deserve. Wow, I can�t believe it. You�re actually going to be my sister! Finally another female Weasley!�

�I know,� Hermione said. She took Ginny�s hand into hers. �Oh, Ginny. I�m so happy. If you had asked me three days ago if I thought Ron would ever propose I would have scoffed at you. I didn�t want marriage anymore than he did, to be truthful.�

�So what made you change your mind?�

�I don�t know. I just... I saw the ring, I looked at his face and... that was all there was to it. Now I can�t believe it took us this long to get here! We�ve been together for close to 7 years. What in the devil have we been waiting for?�

�I don�t know,� Ginny said laughing. She reached out and gave her a hug. �But I�m glad you�re so happy. It�s such a change from you and he fighting!�

Hermione shook her head. �Oh we still do that, have no fear. Just this morning I had to tell him off for sleeping here again. I sent him home and told him I didn�t want to see him again until he was rested, showered and clean. I swear, Ginny, your brother wouldn�t bother to change his clothes if I didn�t tell him sometimes.�

�Mum had the same problem Hermione, I�m afraid it does not improve with age.�

�Oh, I know. There�s still hope though, surely.�

Hermione lay back against her pillows and smiled at her friend. �Well, out with it. Tell me all about what�s been going on with you two.�

�Er... well, we�re ah... very happy right now. I don�t really quite believe it. He drives me crazy but... oh goodness Hermione. I feel as though I�ve just... come alive with feeling. You have no idea.�

Hermione laughed. �Well, I can deduce from that very telling blush of yours. So can everyone else. Your father knows, by the way.�

�Yeah, we spoke to Dad this morning.�

�Really? How did Harry make it through that?�

�Like a pro,� Ginny laughed, �well, okay, Dad had him worried for a moment or two but then they shook hands over me like I was some sort of deal they�d just closed. I felt like I was a piece of livestock or something.�

�Oh, well, I think men just do that to... well, I�m not sure really. Make themselves feel less uncomfortable about the whole thing? Anyway, it doesn�t matter. What matters is that you�re happy and you and Harry have everything squared away for once, right?�

�Yeah, I reckon so. Until the next emergency at any rate. Speaking of which, have you seen your medi-witch today? Sarah Brocklehurst? She helped Harry and I with the Eaton girl and I wanted to check on her progress.�

�Er, she may have stopped by while I was yelling at Ron earlier. I�m sure if you check at the desk, they�ll let you know.�

�Yeah, maybe I�ll do that now and then see if Harry or Neville need rescuing. Do you mind if I step out for a bit?�

�No, go ahead,� Hermione said, smiling. �I have Harry�s books to look over.�

Hermione watched her friend leave and then shook her head. She�d wanted to mention something about Louis Fagan to her, to tell her about the hearing, but she just didn�t have the heart to burst the bubble around her friend. Ginny deserved to be happy with Harry for at least a little while, right? She didn�t need to be worrying about past... struggles. Besides, as far as she knew, Louis Fagan hadn�t seen Ginny since school. Why bring up all that bad stuff again? Deciding not to mention him at all, Hermione eagerly propped open one of Harry�s books and forgot all about it.

***



2004-02-08 10:18 a.m.



prev|current|next