Getting It Right

Chapter 29:

�Loving is a journey with water and with stars,

with smothered air and abrupt storms of flour;

loving is a clash of lightening-bolts

and two bodies defeated by a single drop of honey.� -Pablo Neruda

They took Winifred to St. Mungo�s. They made sure an Obliviator wizard was sent to straighten out the Muggle couple. And then finally, after informing Winifred�s very upset yet still relieved parents, Harry and Ginny both felt dead on their feet. But they stopped in to see Hermione and found her asleep, with Ron ever vigilantly snoring next to her in the chair. They also promised Amelia Bones a full report in the morning and since the Eaton�s were causing a scene right behind them, the Department Head had no choice but to let them go home. Almost by silent agreement they decided that home would be Harry�s flat.

Ginny felt cold inside and out and she couldn�t shake the image of Winifred Eaton out her mind. She�d been brutalized and then left for dead. But she wasn�t dead. The person who had taken her had done something worse... he�d left her alive so that she could re-live the horror of what he had done to her over and over again. Shaking her head in disbelief, Ginny had no doubt she�d have trouble sleeping tonight. Except for the fact of Harry...

Ginny watched him as he went around lighting the candles in his flat. And even though it was summer, he started a small fire. He smiled up at her.

�You�re cold. Sit here and warm up. I�m going to go freshen up, I think. Get out of this...� he said as he indicated his robe that still held a bloodstain from when he had wrapped it around Winifred. Ginny nodded and sat down in front of the fireplace. Already the warmth was filling the room and she felt it break through the frost that covered her skin.

After feeling somewhat better, she let her eyes wander around, noticing the pictures that Harry had placed out on the mantle. Standing up again she smiled as she saw the first photo- it was of Harry, Ron and Hermione, taken sometime during their first year. How young they all looked! Next to that shot was another one, taken probably in Hogsmeade during their fourth year. Harry looked slightly older, his hair sticking up in back as always. She remembered how hurt she�d been when her brother had told her she could go with Harry to the Yule ball, because he hadn�t been able to go with who he wanted, namely Cho Chang. She remembered with quiet pride that she had stuck by Neville then and told her brother where to get off with his plans. She shook her head in remembrance.

Ginny paused when she reached the photograph of Harry�s parents on the wall. They waved up at her and smiled and she reached out to touch it. Ginny traced her hand over Lily Potter�s hair and compared it to her own. Lily�s hair was long and very dark. Ginny knew she could grow her hair out forever and never get it as thick and as lovely as Lily�s had been. She also knew her hair would never be that color either. Where Lily�s hair was dark and auburn, Ginny�s was red and bright. Self-consciously, she touched her own head and felt Harry come up behind her. She only jumped a little bit when he wrapped his arms around her.

�They�d be very happy with you, you know. You don�t have to worry. I think my Dad would definitely approve.�

Ginny turned and faced him. He had changed out of his robe into a dark blue pullover and jeans. She smiled at the hair he had tried to manage into place.

�How do you know they�d like me?� she asked him, suddenly curious how Harry could be so sure.

�Well, I like you, don�t I? And well, you�re just... lovable,� Harry kissed her gently and she felt that familiar warmth work its way through her.

Harry pulled away from her and turned her around again and looked at the photo over her shoulder.

�You know I never really noticed before, but you do look an awful lot like my Mum.�

Ginny shook her head. �No, your mum was lovely Harry. I... could never look as beautiful as that.�

Harry stepped around from behind her and looked closer at the photograph as though he were really studying it.

�You know, I�m afraid I was wrong. You don�t really look like my mum at all,� he glanced back at her, a smile playing on his lips. �You look better, actually. Because I definitely don�t feel like doing this to my mum...� his voice trailed off and he took her back into his arms and kissed her again. Ginny felt herself respond and wrapped her arms around his neck.

A moment later she pulled back, breathless. �I think we should all be thankful of that then.�

Harry looked at her in confusion and she giggled. �That you don�t want to snog your Mum, Harry. That is a little, well... strange.�

Harry laughed quietly and took her hand into his. Ginny felt her heart begin to beat faster. They had had such a long day and so many things had happened. Was she up for this?

Harry looked at her and his eyes were dark again. Her skin flushed, remembering the last time she had seen them that color. Seeing the expression on her face, Harry squeezed her hand.

�I know we�ve had a rough night and I know... well, after seeing that girl, you might not want to do anything, but...well, we�ll only sleep, if that�s what you want. I won�t push you into anything you don�t want to do.�

Ginny smiled and brought her hand up to his face. �I do want to be with you Harry. It�s just... now that we�re here, with nothing to stop us... I feel a bit...�

�Pressured?�

Ginny laughed. �Yeah, you could say that. Truth be told Harry... I don�t remember a lot about my first time, although that�s probably a blessing,� Ginny shook her head in disgust. �And so I feel... apprehensive all of a sudden. Nervy. Scared, even.�

Ginny moved away from him and rubbed her arms around her own shoulders. She felt cold again. Something about the way they had found Winifred Eaton had seemed a little bit too familiar to her...

Harry was watching her and she glanced back at him, offering him a smile. �I reckon I�m just going to be lousy.�

Harry shook his head. He rolled his eyes and went to her, embracing her. �Ginny, I�ve waited this long to be with you, I can wait a little while longer.�

He held her for a moment and then laughed quietly. He took her hand into his. �Would you at least like the tour?�

Ginny raised her eyebrow.

�Of the flat?�

�Oh, okay.�

Harry smiled at her and led her through the kitchen and dining area.

�This is great Harry, always wondered what bachelor�s had in their kitchen-�

�Very funny. Come on, let me show you something else.�

He led her past the main bedroom and into the one across from it. There were still boxes about, but mostly it was put away. Books were everywhere. Harry had stacked three large shelves full of books. She marveled at the sheer volume.

�Whoa, Harry, did Hermione see all of these?�

�Who do you think arranged them all?�

�Oh. Well...� Ginny laughed. �Did you really read all of those in America?�

Harry nodded. �Most, if not all.�

�You�ve never been the studious type though... I mean...� Ginny blushed suddenly. �I mean, reading... you�re not like Hermione.�

Harry rolled his eyes. �Yes, well, not many people can be Hermione, Ginny. But I found out in America that reading was a good way... to pass the time.�

Ginny looked around and shook her head. �Didn�t you have a life in America?�

�I had a job to do and it kept me busy and I made a few friends, but in reality... as soon as I landed in America I realized I had left the only person I ever wanted to be with, behind me. And just so we don�t have any confusion over that...that person was you.�

Ginny felt a tiny spark of exhilaration at that, but she shook her head. �Why are you telling me this now?�

Harry reached across and pulled her into his arms again. �Because I want you to know that since the day I left there has never been anyone else. I was so completely dense, Ginny. That day that you kissed me behind Hagrid�s hut...it frightened me. I wanted you so much... and all I could think about was how wrong that was. I reckon part of me thought I didn�t deserve you.�

Ginny put her hand to his face and looked up at him. �And here I�ve been thinking that I don�t deserve you.�

�Maybe we can finally agree that we deserve each other then?�

They kissed again and Ginny pulled away, smiling. � Okay, so... the kitchen, the dining room, the spare bedroom that�s been turned into a smaller version of the Hogwarts library... isn�t there a room missing on this tour, Harry?�

Harry smiled. �I didn�t want to come across as too forward, Miss Weasley.�

Ginny raised her eyebrow at him. �This from the man who asked to sleep in my bed the other night?�

�Yes, well...� Harry said, suddenly serious again, �That was before... today.�

Ginny nodded and knew he was right. Somehow, something between them had changed from innocent to not quite so innocent and she knew it was only a matter of time.

�I�m really nervous,� she said quietly and she knew it was true.

�Do you trust me?�

Ginny thought about it. She�d had problems with that question, she had to admit. Harry watched her and took her hand.

�Let me ask something different. Do you trust me with your life, at least?�

�Of course. You�ve saved it before, haven�t you?� Ginny didn�t even have to think about that to know it was true.

�Then why don�t you trust me with your heart?�

Ginny frowned at him. Shades of her earlier feelings of anger and hurt went through her. But they were beyond that now, weren�t they?

She looked into his eyes and felt that same familiar pull again. How could she trust him with something as important as her life and not her heart? She thought of the letter he had written her, the amends he had promised to make. The way he had stayed with her, and the way he worried over her. She knew there was no ulterior motives to Harry�s kindness and concern. She knew that if she told him to wait then he would wait for her. Not because it was the gentlemanly thing to do but because above all things, he wanted her to feel comfortable.

She smiled at him then and pulled their intertwined hands into view. They both looked down at them.

�Show me the bedroom Harry,� she said quietly.

�Are you sure?�

�I�ve never really been more sure of anything,� she laughed quietly. �It�s just that... easy.�

Harry looked at her and nodded, leading her out of the room. He stopped at the door to his bedroom and pulled her closer.

�I love you, you know,� he said, simply.

�I know.�

�Oh? And how exactly do you know?�

�It�s in those eyes of yours, of course. I�ve always known, really. Somewhere deep inside. I�m so glad the rest of you decided to catch up.�

Harry laughed and shook his head. �Well, I never have been that quick about some things.�

Ginny smiled slyly at him. �Oh, Harry. That�s what a girl likes to hear.�

Harry blushed as she brushed past him into the room. She heard the door close and felt him come up behind her, wrapping his arms around her. He buried his face in her hair and whispered her name. She turned to face him, meeting his lips. Ginny didn�t feel regret and she didn�t feel pain. Her fears had vanished. She only felt the two of them together and the world outside was gone. She felt something inside of her open when he touched her and she realized that she never wanted it closed again.

It was finally an answer to one of her questions. And it was amazing.

***

The next morning Harry awoke with warm sunshine on his face. He smiled as he became aware of his surroundings and reached out to touch Ginny. He frowned when his hand fell into empty space. He opened his eyes and squinted to the pillow next to him. He turned and reached for his glasses. Seeing her wand still laying on the table near the window, he exhaled, realizing he had been the tiniest bit worried that she had gone. He heard water then and knew she was in the lavatory. Before he could get out of the bed, the door opened and he looked at her.

Absolutely amazing, he thought.

�Good morning,� he said quietly.

Ginny looked over at him in surprise. She had pulled her still wet hair back into a small ponytail and was wearing one of his shirts over her jeans. Harry didn�t think he had ever seen her look as lovely as she did then.

�Good morning to you too, sleepy head,� she said as she smiled at him. She sat down on the bed and then leaned across it. �How did you sleep?�

Harry smiled, taking her hand into his. �Perfect. Better than I have in years. I think we may have discovered a cure for insomnia.�

�Yeah, pure exhaustion,� Ginny said with a smirk.

�I was thinking more along the lines of pure happiness, myself, but...� he bent his head down and kissed her. Ginny pulled away a moment later, her face flushed.

�I could get used to this, you know,� she said, a bit breathless. �But still, I almost can�t believe it.�

Harry smiled. �And I can�t believe you�ve showered and dressed already. It can�t be that late can it?�

�No, but I want to get into the office and look at that painting some more. Plus Amelia will be wanting us to go to the houses of the other girls. And we have to see Hermione and Ron and-�

Harry cut her off with another kiss. �There�s no rest for us, is there?�

Ginny shook her head. �Do you want there to be? I reckon the two of us get too much time on our hands and we�ll... I don�t know. Be really happy. And how boring would that be?�

�I could use some boring right about now,� he laughed. He ran his finger along her cheek. �You look great in my shirt by the way.�

Ginny blushed. �Sorry, my jumper seemed a bit bulky for the day and I didn�t have anything else to wear.�

�That doesn�t sound that bad to me.�

�Harry,� Ginny said, reproachfully.

�Hmm?� Harry was tracing his fingers along her neck, his hand reaching up to release her hair from the clasp she�d used.

�I just did that... no... oh Harry,� Ginny said mournfully as her hair fell in a mess to her shoulders. �You don�t understand about a woman�s wet hair, she has to keep it... oh... hmmm...�

Harry pulled away a moment later and Ginny looked up at him, her eyes wide. �You are going to be the death of me, I just know it. How are we supposed to work together if you keep doing that?�

�That was sort of the point, Ginny.�

Ginny narrowed her eyes. �You are wicked, Harry Potter.�

�Glad you noticed. Now about that shirt, what if I suddenly want it back-�

�Harry! We have to go into work and the faster you get going, the quicker we can come back here. Look at it that way... please?�

Harry sighed. He could tell her mind was set. He rolled back over and then sat up again. �Okay. I�ll go take a shower.�

Ginny giggled as he pulled the sheet around him and marched stubbornly to the loo.

�I promise I left some hot water,� she called out to him.

He turned at the door and looked at her. �Doesn�t matter... I won�t need it. In fact, I think I�m going to be needing some very cold water this morning.�

Ginny, who was putting her hair back up, made a face at him. �Well, good. That means you�ll be doubly quick about things, won�t you?�

Harry grimaced at her and then closed the door. But he smiled despite himself. He couldn�t help it.

Exactly eight minutes later he was joining her at his table. She had already put the kettle on and had managed to find a box of biscuits to munch. He really needed to think about having more food around the place...

�You need more food around here,� Ginny said absently as she munched on her lemon-raspberry biscuit. She was reading what looked like a letter.

�Yeah, well... didn�t know I�d be having a Weasley over for breakfast now did I?�

Ginny looked up and him and pursed her lips. �Funny. Look at what my dad sent us.�

Harry frowned and took the letter from her. �When did this come?�

�Right after you got in the shower. Seems there�s going to be a formal inquiry about Hermione�s illness,� Ginny got up and brought the teapot over, pouring them each a cup.

�And there�s going to be a big engagement celebration to boot. Hey, Bill and Charlie are coming, great! I haven�t seen them in-� Harry paused and looked at the unhappy expression on her face. �Er... what�s wrong?�

�Well, Dad sent that here. To your flat.�

Harry took a sip of his tea and nodded. �Yeah... and?�

�What�s the top of the letter say, Harry?�

�Dear Harry and Ginny-�, Harry stopped and looked at her. �How�d he know you�d be here? I mean, you don�t think...�

�I haven�t even had a chance to tell my parents about Neville. Oh goodness, Dad must have known when he saw us outside my office yesterday. He was looking at me all funny-�

�He was looking at you because you were flushed. From fighting with me, remember? Well, as far as he and everyone else knows, any way. He was probably just concerned.�

�Hmm. Maybe. Still seems a bit odd to me that he just sort of.... knew.�

Harry smiled at her. �Well, maybe he�s got some inherent seer ability himself.�

�Harry, I�m being serious.�

�I know. Lighten up. So your Dad sent a letter here. It doesn�t mean anything other than that. He probably heard that we�d been out late and Amelia saw us Apparate together. Your father probably reckons you slept on my couch.�

Ginny shook her head at him. �You of all people should at least feel a tad bit embarrassed. It doesn�t concern you that my dad... well.. knows?�

Harry hadn�t really thought about it, but now that she mentioned it... since Ron seemed okay with Ginny and he going out, he�d just assumed everyone else would be okay with it. Harry suddenly didn�t feel like facing a whole line of Weasley men with Ginny on his arm.

�Er... well... maybe you should stop by and ah... see your mum sometime today? Maybe she can help ah... spread the news?�

�That�ll be a pleasant conversation, �Mum, I broke up with Neville, and oh by the way, slept with Harry last night, can I have the recipe for your raspberry tarts�? Oy. She�s going to clobber me.�

Suddenly Harry had a thought that made him panic. �Er... Ginny... about last night...�

Ginny looked at him expectantly. �Yes. I was there. That soft thing on the left, you might recall.�

�I mean, well... what with all this stuff with Hermione and all-� Harry felt his skin turn warmer. �It�s just well, we didn�t um... well...�

Ginny rolled her eyes. �Honestly, what is it with you men? You can do it but you can�t talk about it?�

�Well, that�s a bit unfair. I mean, we did just sort of... well, let it happen really and I was just wondering if-�

Ginny laughed at him. �Oh, Merlin, the panicked expression on your face. Don�t worry Harry. I�m all taken care of.�

Harry nodded his head, relaxing. As he took a sip of his tea another worry crossed his mind. �Er... how?�

Ginny, who was putting the biscuits back into their container, frowned at him. �What do you mean, how? I take Pennyroyal tea, naturally. I�m not allergic like Hermione.�

�No, I mean... er... you said you and Neville never... and-�

Ginny�s ears suddenly started turning red. She didn�t meet his eyes. �Yes, well, that�s not really important is it? Come on, we should get to the Ministry. We can stop and pick up some proper food along the way too.�

Ginny got up from the table, not looking at him. He followed her with his eyes. She wasn�t telling him something on purpose.

�Ginny, the last I ah... knew on the subject, was that the Pennyroyal had to be in your system for a few days so how did you know when to take it?�

Ginny stood with her back to him. She turned around slowly. Rolling her eyes, she bit her lip and sighed. �I started taking it when you came back, okay? I don�t know why... I just... did. Now don�t you let that go to your head... oh too late I see,� she frowned at him.

Harry�s face had gone from questioning to a wide grin. �Why, Miss Weasley. Am I to take that as sign that you had a vision of us finally getting everything right for a change?�

Harry stood up and went to her, a smirk on his face.

�No,� she said stubbornly, folding her arms. �I just... well, really. It�s just a tea. So it happens to be a form of birth control. It�s not a big deal.�

Harry laughed and hugged her. �It�s okay. I think it�s... cute.�

Ginny pulled away from him, her face pink. �Cute?� She narrowed her eyes at him. �Oh so now I�m a ... what... a Puffeskin? Cute? Really, Harry.�

�Okay, okay. You�re not cute. You�re...� Harry faltered for another word. �You�re just prepared. You�re a very prepared, sensible woman and I am in awe of your foresight and cleverness.�

Ginny shook her head.

�Too far with the foresight and cleverness comment, right?�

She nodded.

�Sorry. Forgive me?�

Ginny folded her arms and shook her head.

�Please? I�ll... make it up to you.�

She raised her eyebrow. �Oh?�

�Yeah,� Harry put his arms around her and kissed her gently. �I�ll make taking that tea very worth it.�

�Harry,� Ginny said as she blushed. �You are wicked.�

�Well, the sorting hat did want to put me in Slytherin.. did you know that?�

�Hmm. Really?�

Harry nodded.

�That explains oh so much,� Ginny said with a raised eyebrow. �Now are we ready to start the day or would you like a bit more of this wonderful banter of ours?�

Harry smiled and kissed her again. �Do I really need to answer that? Besides, I like banter. It�s good. It�s far superior to you telling me off for something.�

Ginny shook her head and smiled ruefully at him. �Well, the day has just begun Harry.�

Shaking his head, he watched as she walked back to the bedroom to grab her things. Harry followed her part way and stepped into his study to grab the two books he�d meant to give to Hermione. Perhaps their friend would be less cross at them if he brought a book offering to her later. He paused at his bedroom door and watched Ginny remove the clasp in her hair, watched the way she moved her hands through it, styling it, completely unaware of how beautiful she looked to him. His mind flashed on an image from the night before and he felt hot suddenly. A strange emotion was in in his chest and he was overcome with the need to pounce on her. He wanted to kiss her everywhere he could reach, right then and there. He took a deep breath and tried to think of the least arousing thing in the world. Unfortunately, his mind seemed blank. His senses were filled with the woman in front of him.

Stop thinking like a sex maniac, he thought to himself with a laugh.

It was going to be an interesting day. Long, but definitely interesting.

***

The man, that had been the boy, was angry. They had found the girl much too quickly. He hadn�t expected that. Not that it changed anything. They had no idea. They were still in the dark. She was still in the dark.

But still... that had been closer than he would have liked. He had not expected her to react so well to the memento he�d had left behind. Maybe he had underestimated her talent. He had certainly underestimated other things...other people.

Thinking of the dark haired wizard made his blood boil. He shouldn�t be here, now. He was just going to get in the way. Maybe he would have to do something about that...

He waited outside the building, trying to cool his emotions. It wouldn't� do to mess up now. He needed patience... he needed to be calm.

His head snapped up when he saw the girl come out of the building, on her way to work. He fell in step behind her. She stopped to look for something in her bag and he smiled. He stood behind her, his eyes following the graceful line of her neck. Sensing something behind her, she turned and he smiled.

�Hi,� he whispered.

Her eyes were wide with surprise. �Oh, hello. I haven�t seen you in awhile. How have you been?�

�Good. Listen, can I show you something?�

�Er... well, I�m late actually. And I promised my sister I would stop off and see her-�

He smiled wider at her, moving closer to her. �It won�t take but a moment. Promise.�

She smiled and shook her head. �Okay, but you�re being very mysterious.�

He raised his eyebrow and then took her hand, leading her out of the way. She frowned when he led her into the alley.

�Er... this is what you wanted to show me?�

He looked at her, a smile playing on his face. �No.�

�Then what?� she looked at him, confusion over her features.

�Have you ever thought about being a redhead? It�d look most lovely with your skin color. Truly, you would be beautiful.�

She rolled her eyes. �Is this part of a master plan to get into my good graces again? I thought we had this argument about my hair once before. Goodbye-�

He cut her off and pulled her to him.

�Let me go.�

�Afraid I can�t do that Mandy,� he whispered. �You�re most important to me now. I�m sorry I never told you that before. That seems to be my curse lately.�

Mandy Brocklehurst was frightened then, when she looked into his eyes, and she tried to pull away from him. She didn�t notice the rope he held in his hands.

�I�m going to scream if you don�t-� she fell silent in his arms. The rope working around her and kissing her skin with its deadly poison.

He smiled and looked down at her and tutted under his breath.

That had been far too easy and far too much fun.

***



2004-02-01 11:03 a.m.



prev|current|next