Proposals, Rings and Dreams of Other Things

Author's Note: Sorry for the delay, I wanted to get a bit caught up on the story, to make sure it was going the direction I wanted it to go. I think we're in the homestretch now, the next few chapters have a lot activity. I hope you'll be pleased.

Chapter Forty:

�Oh Ginny, I can�t believe it.�

Hermione, Ginny, Harry and Ron were at Harry�s flat. St. Mungo�s had released both Harry and Ginny because they were both better than expected. With promises that they would rest for a few days, they had both been given clean bills of health. Harry�s seemingly miraculous recovery was the top discussion among the staff and while Ginny knew her father was trying to keep it quiet, most people knew something extraordinary had happened.

So Hermione and Ron had insisted they take care of the couple and had stopped off and bought enough food to last them for a few days. Ron was showing Harry how to cook something or other. Ginny wished she could go watch them, because whatever it was they were doing in there, it did not sound as though Harry was enjoying it. She kept hearing him curse and then it would sound as though something broke. She�d had no idea that Harry was so hopeless in the kitchen. No wonder he had wanted to hire a house-elf.

She looked at Hermione and shook her head.

�What can�t you believe?�

�You. Harry. He doesn�t even have a scratch on him. If I hadn�t seen him when they brought him in... Ron said he was really frightened, you know, when you pulled Harry out from the rocks. I�m just... I�m amazed. I�ve read all about the Kiss of Life, of course. It�s so rare, Ginny. And the fact that you and Harry... well, I just can�t believe it. I always thought it was one of those hokey things, you know like Crumpled-Horned Snorkacks or crystal ball gazing-�

Hermione paused and then blushed. �Sorry.�

Ginny laughed and patted her hand. �It�s okay, Hermione, I know how you feel about those things. And I can�t believe it myself. I don�t think the real meaning of it has hit home yet. Just think, all those times when I was a little girl and I used to think Harry and me were meant to be? Who knew I was right?�

�Well, you are a seer,� Hermione said pointedly.

�True,� Ginny laughed.

�Most people don�t find their soul mate, you know. I was reading all about it last night.�

Ginny paused as they heard a particularly loud crash from the kitchen. She looked at Hermione and then called out.

�Harry?�

They heard something that sounded like grumbling and then Harry poked his head out of the kitchen door.

�Yes, love?�

Ginny bit her lip and glanced at Hermione who was also trying not to laugh.

�Er... everything alright in there? Do you two need some... help?�

�No... no. We�re fine. It�ll just be ah...� Harry paused and looked behind him. �It�ll just be a little while longer.� Harry�s head disappeared again into the kitchen.

Hermione and Ginny burst out laughing. Ginny rubbed her head in dismay.

�Should we tell him he had a turnip in his hair or no?�

Hermione laughed heartily. �No, let�s not. I want to see how long it stays there. Besides, it sort of goes with his new glasses.�

After a moment the two stopped laughing and took a sip of their drinks. Hermione put her glass down and then gasped.

�I almost forgot! I stopped off at your flat like you asked. Here are the clothes I brought.� She handed a small satchel to Ginny.

Ginny sighed. Her flat. How she missed it. Well, not really, but at least now she�d have a few things of her own here. Her and Harry had decided that she would stay with him. How far the mighty and independent have fallen, Ginny thought to herself. Her earlier arguments for independence seemed silly now, after everything that had happened. After realizing you�d gladly give up your life for someone how could you argue about things like who lived where? It was all pointless in the long run.

She smiled eagerly at Hermione and looked at what she had brought her. Something blue caught her eye and she pulled it out, frowning.

�Hermione, this isn�t mine-�

�I know. That�s something I picked up especially for you. Payback for the brown dress. I think Harry will really like it.�

Ginny pulled out a nightgown, the color of dark sapphire. It was long and silky, feeling like cool water in Ginny�s hands. The front part around the neck was done in fine lace and scooped down very low. It was one of the most beautiful things she had ever seen. She stared at her friend.

�Oh, it�s lovely, Hermione. But you didn�t have to-�

�Nonsense. You mentioned you didn�t have anything here, so I reckoned that applied to nightgowns as well. Although I hardly expect you to stay in it that long.�

Ginny blushed. �Hermione, stop it.�

�Well, Arthur did point out that the ah.. physicality of your relationship was probably very strong-�

Ginny felt herself turn an even darker shade of red. �Stop it. It�s bad enough my father knows. And now my mum,� Ginny paused, dreading the idea. �And my brothers and... dear. I should just take an ad out in the Daily Prophet.�

�Maybe you could write a column on it,� Hermione said, her mouth twitching.

Ginny stared at her.

�You know,� Hermione continued, �About how soul mate sex is the best ever!�

�Hermione!� Ginny said, outraged.

Hermione started laughing very hard then and Ginny was tempted to tell her to shut up. After a moment, Ginny started smiling too and was soon laughing with her friend.

After a long series of giggles, Hermione stopped and shook her head.

�Oh I am sorry, Ginny. It�s just... oh, this is just too much. I mean, I always knew you and Harry sort of... worked well together, but... now since you�ve been officially sanctioned...�

Ginny rolled her eyes. �Shut up, would you? It�s not as though we have an official decree of anything. We�re still just ourselves.�

�Right, right,� Hermione said, calming herself down. Her eyes glinted at Ginny mischievously. �But please, do let the rest of us mortals know, how IS the sex?�

Ginny shook her head. �What has gotten into you today? You�ve gone a bit balmy. I think my family is rubbing off on you way too much. Although I can�t see them wanting to know about that sort of thing.�

Hermione giggled again uncharacteristically but then sobered. �I�m sorry. Honestly. You�re right. I reckon it�s just...� Hermione paused and then looked at her. �I was scared when they brought Harry in, Ginny. I thought he was dead. And then when I saw you... I don�t know... as much as I would hate to lose one of you, I know I couldn�t survive losing both of you. I love you two. I�ve known you both almost my entire life and...� her voice wavered with emotion.

�It�s okay, Hermione,� Ginny said quietly.

�No, it�s not. I never tell people how I feel. Well, except Ron. But... look, I�m just glad you were there to save Harry and that Harry was there to save you.�

Ginny moved the satchel of clothes from the table and then gave her friend a hug. She couldn�t handle all these emotions anymore. Even her brothers seemed unusually subdued around her and Harry.

Almost in answer to her thoughts, Ron came out of the kitchen carrying a plate full of freshly baked bread. He had a scowl on his face.

�You know, I think for Christmas I am going to set Harry up with some cooking lessons. He�s horrible. Maybe Snape could offer to do them, he likes to torture people. You�ve got your work cut out for you, Ginny,� Ron paused and looked at them. �What�s with you two?�

�Nothing,� said Hermione, her tone returning to normal.

�Nothing, dear brother,� Ginny said as she took the bread from him. �And I�ll kindly ask you not to refer to Harry as horrible. How bad can he be?�

Before Ron could answer, Harry joined him, holding what looked like a roasted chicken that had been hastily put back together.

�I�m pretty bad actually, but in all fairness Ron�s a miserable teacher.�

�You�re just a lousy student. Something I should have remembered from school.�

Harry made a face at Ron and put the chicken on the table. He frowned at it.

�Well, it doesn�t look like much, but I do believe it�s edible. I think. Oh well, if it�s not, I take full responsibility. The chicken was my job.�

Ginny pulled a piece of meat off of the lopsided bird and tried a small taste. She smiled at Harry.

�It�s delicious.�

Harry smiled. �I knew there was a reason I loved you. You like my cooking.�

Ron rolled his eyes. �Yeah, yeah. Look, you three sit down, I�ll bring out the rest of the food. I�m responsible for that. Wait till you taste the red potatoes!�

Hermione shook her head while Ginny and Harry sat down. Harry�s eyes strayed over to the open satchel on the floor and he looked at Ginny.

�Got enough for a few days, do you?�

Ginny nodded. �Hermione was kind enough to stop off and pick up a few things.�

�Good,� Harry said smiling. �Because I don�t intend to let you out of my sight.�

�You�re the one who left and got caught under a rock, � she reminded him. �I rescued you.�

Harry nodded. �You�re right, as always... hmm, then how about I don�t intend to let you let me out of your sight?�

Ginny grinned widely at him and thought about the nightgown Hermione had given her. She had a feeling Harry wouldn�t even want to let her out of his grasp when he saw it.

Hermione cleared her throat and they both turned to look at her. She smiled apologetically.

�Sorry, just reminding you two I was here. Pass the chicken, would you Ginny?�

Ron came back out and passed out the remaining dishes. All in all it was a good dinner. Ginny couldn�t remember the last time she had laughed so much or ate such wonderful food. Lopsided chicken and all.

***

Long after dinner and Hermione and Ron had finally left, Ginny did put that nightgown to good use, although true to Hermione�s prediction, it didn�t stay on for very long. Slipping it back on now, she smiled to herself as she watched the night sky starting to turn pink with light outside of Harry�s window. She lay back down and rested her head on his chest. She knew that he was finally asleep.

She was tired as well but she couldn�t sleep. There was restlessness in her bones. Too many things happening lately, she couldn�t keep track. Ginny felt as though she were inside a windstorm. She couldn�t process it all. The missing girls, the explosion at the prison, saving Harry�s life... it was all too much to even think about.

Harry muttered something as he slept and she looked up at him, watching his face frown at the thing he was dreaming about. She moved her hand up to his face to calm him and he was still once again. She knew it got so busy sometimes in that head of his. She sighed and moved her body closer to his. She loved him so much it hurt. She would have never thought that possible, but here she was.

For five years she had lived without this love, for five years she had told herself it didn�t matter. And now... now it seemed as though it were meant to be. Why had she been scared a few days ago about losing herself to it? That moment on the rocks had made everything crystal clear to her. She was still herself when she was with Harry, but she was also a part of something that was greater than she was.

Ginny knew then what was on her mind. It was obvious. She laughed as she thought of it. She lifted her head and kissed her way up his chest. Harry stirred but remained asleep. Smiling wickedly to herself she pulled herself up and draped herself across him. He shook his head as he woke and finally opened his eyes.

�Ginny? What-�

�Shh,� she said quietly and she lowered her mouth to his. She felt him wake up even more as he returned her kiss. He pulled back and squinted up at her.

�Not that I don�t mind the intrusion, love, but why are you waking me up at...� he reached out and stumbled for his glasses, glancing at the clock as he put them on. �At 4 am? I thought you said I wore you out last night?�

Ginny chuckled. She moved off of him and took his hand into hers.

�Us Weasley�s have quick relapse time. You should know that.�

Harry turned on his side and pulled her closer to him. �Hmm... right. Perhaps I�ll have to put a little sleeping draught in your evening tea if I want to ever get a full night�s sleep.�

�Harry, do you remember what you asked me the other day?�

�Hmm... what day would that be? Haven�t they all sort of bled into one?� Harry was moving the hair off of her face.

�The other day, when we came back here, in the afternoon...� Ginny paused, suddenly faltering.

�Hmm... you mean the question that made you so mad at me that you told me off, yet again?� Harry wrapped his hands around her waist.

�Yeah,� Ginny said blushing, glad his attention was not on her face at the moment. �Listen, Harry, are you really awake?�

Harry brought his eyes back up to hers and smiled. �As much as anyone can be at 4 am. Although I have to admit I�m bit distracted... remind me to properly thank Hermione for this wonderful nightgown.�

�Well, un-distract yourself.�

Harry�s eyes widened at the tone in her voice and he stopped moving for a moment. �What�s wrong, Ginny?�

�Nothing. I mean, I�ve been laying here, thinking and well, I... I think we should do it.�

Harry�s brow creased in confusion. �Er... Gin...�

�No, not that. I mean... the question you asked me. I�m... well, I�m saying yes, Harry.�

Harry stared at her. Finally, after a long moment, he spoke.

�What made you change your mind?�

That was not the reaction she had expected. She bit her lip in confusion. Maybe he didn�t want to marry her anymore, maybe he reckoned she was just a given?

�I just... well, what does it matter? I want to be married. To you, you git.�

Harry pulled away from her and sat up. He shook his head.

�Why is it I am always getting told off by you? You said me you wanted to marry me, just not right now. So what�s changed?�

Ginny sighed. So much for romantic declarations in the middle of the night. She sat up and looked at him.

�Everything. We�re... well, you know, what Dad said. I think we should get married now.�

Harry sighed and stood up. He pulled his bathrobe up off the floor and slipped it on. Ginny was confused. Now what was wrong?

�Why does the fact that we�re soul mates mean we have to get married?� he asked her, his voice stern.

Ginny blinked up at him. �Well.. sorry, Harry, but... um... duh.�

�No, explain it to me. I really want to know your motivation here.�

Ginny felt angry with him then. She crossed her arms and watched as he paced back and forth. �My motivation? Other than wanting to be your wife and the fact that I almost died when I thought you had died... hmm... those seem to be two good reasons to me.�

�So this soul mate mumbo jumbo has nothing to do with it?�

�What do you mean, mumbo jumbo? I thought you believed it?�

Harry ran his hand through his hair. �No, I don�t know that I do.�

Ginny moved as though she�d be hit. He didn�t believe it? How could he do the things he did or say the words he said and not believe it?

�How can you say that,� she whispered.

Harry stopped moving and kneeled down in front of her. �Don�t get me wrong, Ginny. I love you more than anything. And I know something happened between us on that hospital bed. I know we saved each other. But I don�t want some idea of fate or prophecy or whatever making it seem as though there was no other way to go. I�ve had enough of that in my life. I want you to want me because of me, not because of some ancient magical ideal about our souls being meant for each other.�

Ginny suddenly understood. She reached out and touched his face.

�Oh, Harry, I do want to marry you for you. This soul mate business doesn�t change that; it�s only made me see how silly I was being. Worrying about being independent! I�m only as strong as I let myself be and when I�m with you I feel free. You make me all the things I thought I wasn�t. I just don�t want to waste anymore time fighting it.� She kissed him, deeply. After a long time, Harry pulled his head away and rubbed his hand on her cheek.

�Then, yes, since you twisted my arm, I will marry you, Miss Weasley.�

Ginny laughed. �Aren�t I supposed to be saying that to you after you present me with a ring, at least?�

Harry looked around his room a second and then jumped up, going to his dresser. He came back over to her, holding a small box. He smiled sheepishly.

�It isn�t much, but I�ll replace it when I have time to look for a proper ring.�

Ginny�s eyes widened and she took the box from him. �You have a ring, already?�

�Er... yeah. Um... it�s not what you think, but it is a ring, of sorts.�

Ginny opened the box and stared down at what it contained. It was a ring, except it wasn�t what you would call normal. It was wooden, for one thing, and rather crudely made. The wood itself was a bright honey color and tiny bands of gold flickered as she moved it into the light. It was an uneven shape, as though carved out by hand. It had small writing along the inside of it and she held it closer to make it out.

She gasped. �Why Harry, this has my name in it!�

Harry blushed as he took it from her. �Yeah. It�s... remember that tree grove in America I told you about, Ever Green Grove? The one where the trees always stayed green and lush, even in winter?�

Ginny nodded. �Sort of, I mean, I think I er... fell asleep, but it sounds familiar.�

�Well, once a year, you�re allowed to go into the grove with an axe and well, they have this huge ceremony, actually. Every spring. People travel from all around and they go into the grove because it�s supposed to be a time of love, whether it�s unrequited or not and... well, anyway, it�s said that if you strip a piece of bark from the oldest tree there and make a ring out of it and carve in your beloved�s name, then... well, you�re supposed to find him or her again. Eventually. Or so the legend goes. And I... well, one year I did it and there was only one name I ever wanted to carve inside that ring.�

Harry took the box from her hand and pulled her hand towards him. He fumbled as he removed it from the box and smiled. �It probably won�t fit. I�m not a proper carver. But... well, it�ll have to do, for now.�

Harry slipped the wooden ring around her finger and Ginny bit her lip, not wanting to cry. The ring felt warm against her skin and she watched as it seem to stretch and close around her finger. It fit perfectly then. Harry looked at her, his face determined.

�Now let me see if I can get this part right, while not in the throes of passion,� Harry�s face broke into a smile. �No wonder you thought I wasn�t serious before.�

Ginny laughed. �You did not ask me while you were in the throes of passion!�

Harry shook his head. �Yeah, but it was right after... okay. Hmm... let�s see, I think it goes something like this... Ginny Weasley, will you marry me? Will you take pity on this poor wretched boy who takes forever to figure things out and even longer to do something about them?�

Ginny smiled and squeezed his hand. �Of course, Harry.�

�Sorry, must have a full complete answer in the affirmative for the judges-�

Ginny cut him off with a kiss and she threw herself into his arms. When they pulled away a moment later, Harry smiled shyly at her and Ginny had never felt so happy in her life. She moved her mouth to his ear, kissing the part of his neck that she knew made him shiver. �I will marry you, Harry. Yes and yes and yes and yes. Is that enough affirmation for you?�

Harry picked her up into his arms and lay her back down on the bed. He gazed down at her, his eyes full of love and longing and everything else that she knew was in her own eyes. He ducked his head down and kissed her softly on the neck, moving slowly down the front of her. His hands gathered the silk between his fingers, pushing the nightgown gently upwards.

�And what exactly do you think you�re doing now?� she asked him, teasingly.

Harry paused and looked up at her. �I thought I�d try to get you to say yes some more... at least a couple of more times.�

Ginny laughed and the sound of it filled the morning air as the sun started to rise. She raised her hand and gazed at the ring he had placed upon her finger. She didn�t want another one, this one was just fine, she decided. She was about to tell him so when he reached his main objective and Ginny was lost to the sensation and forgot everything in the swirl of his loving.

It was then that Ginny felt her soul breathe its own answer: Yes.

***

Ginny slept finally, afterwards. And she dreamed. She dreamed of caves and water and lost treasure. She dreamt of walking through a forest, the moon guiding her way. She knew she was supposed to go somewhere else, but the power of the darkness was too strong for her and she was compelled to go where she knew she shouldn�t. She knew he was waiting for her to return.

When Ginny reached the clearing she was frightened when she saw the image of a girl, lying naked in the moonlight. She was so young. Ginny saw the bruises along her skin and shivered despite the heat of the night. When she heard the branch snap behind her she turned and felt his breath on her neck. When his hand touched her, Ginny felt her skin go strangely cold. He whispered something in her ear and she walked into the clearing and kneeled down to the girl. Ginny couldn�t see her face and when she moved her hair out of the way, she gasped. The girl was her and she was dying, her skin glowing pale and bright. Ginny bit her lip in her sleep and turned violently, waking Harry in the process. He reached down to hold her but she pushed him away. In her dream Ginny had stood, wanting to fight the man that remained out of sight, but he kept laughing at her from different places and she had realized then that she didn�t have her wand. She would feel his touch over her skin and then he would be gone again and Ginny used her hands in vain to push him away. She was pounding on Harry�s arms when she finally woke up and she realized with a start that she had been crying. Harry was looking at her with concern and worry. Relief flooded his features when she opened her eyes. Ginny felt the darkness and the strangeness of the dream begin to leave

�Are you okay?� Harry asked, his voice soft.

Ginny shook her head. The dream had felt so real...she looked into Harry�s kind eyes and tried to offer him a smile.

�It... was a nightmare.�

�You�re telling me, I think you almost gave me a black eye,� Harry said and he propped up a pillow behind their heads. He pulled her closer to him. �What was it about?�

Ginny frowned. �I don�t know. It was about everything and then it was about nothing. I was walking in a forest and... I don�t know. I don�t want to talk about it.�

Harry didn�t say anything for a moment and his hand rubbed her head, getting lost in her hair.

�Sometimes it helps though, to talk about nightmares,� he said quietly after a moment.

Ginny didn�t say anything, her sense of anxiety still high. She didn�t want to tell Harry she�d just had a dream about seeing herself dying. She shook her head.

�Not this one. This one just needs to be forgotten,� she paused and then she pulled away and looked over at the clock. �Oh my goodness, it�s 11am already. We really have slept late for once.�

Harry still looked at her, his face worried. �It�s okay if you don�t want to talk about the dream, Ginny. But...� his voice trailed off, unsure.

Ginny smiled with what she hoped was sincerity. �Good, because I don�t. It was just a nightmare. I�ve already forgotten it.� She moved off of the bed and opened the doors to the balcony, letting the summer light fall into the bedroom. Harry watched her for a moment and then shook his head. He grabbed his robe from the floor and padded over to her, turning her around.

�Fine. Don�t tell me about it, but you know I�ll listen if it happens again.�

Ginny nodded. �Of course. That�s what husbands do, right?�

Harry smiled. �Oh yeah, I�d forgotten about that-�

�Harry! How could you forget!�

He smiled playfully at her and bent his head down, kissing her nose. �I suppose we should get ready and go tell everyone the good news?�

Ginny wrapped her arms around him and breathed in deeply. She didn�t want to tell anyone, she wanted to keep it just between them. Just for a little while.

�Harry, would you mind if-�

�We didn�t tell anyone just yet?�

Ginny pulled back and looked at him in surprise. �Yeah, how�d you know?�

Harry shrugged. �Well, I don�t really want to steal any thunder from Ron and Hermione, actually. They deserve all the attention now. We can wait a little while. Besides,� Harry said as he pulled her closer to him. �I like knowing something no one else does. And I like looking at that crude little ring on your finger and knowing what it means.�

Ginny looked down at her hand and smiled. They had moved it from her ring finger to her middle finger and while it looked odd there, it didn�t look any less beautiful to her.

�Hmm... why don�t we take a shower?� Harry said as he started pulling her towards the lavatory.

�Harry, we can�t take a shower together-�

�And why not?�

Ginny paused, she wasn�t sure why not.

�Well, something tells me we won�t get very much cleaning done.�

Harry smiled wickedly at her. �I promise to scrub you, if you promise to scrub me.�

Ginny blushed. �Why do I get the feeling you�re not talking about back washing?�

�What? I am. Honest. See how innocent I look? Besides, I�m still worn out from this morning.�

Ginny stared into his smiling eyes and shook her head. He turned and headed into the loo and she heard the water turn on. Ginny shivered despite herself and her mind flicked to the dream she�d had, once again. Everything was fine. Wasn�t it? She was being silly. There were no strange men waiting to pounce on her. What could possibly happen now?

***

Draco Malfoy watched as Ginny Weasley came out of the door of Potter�s flat. He watched as she stood waiting for her boyfriend to finish up whatever it was he was doing inside. The years had been good to her, Draco noticed. No longer a small, skinny girl with too many freckles, the youngest Weasel had blossomed into a fairly decent looking young woman, he had to grudgingly admit to himself. He could see why Potter would be so taken with her, but then Potter always did have a thing for charity cases didn�t he? Potter had spent his entire life hanging about the Weasley�s, so Draco assumed it was only natural he�d end up with one.

He watched the couple head out into the street, their hands joined. How he wouldn�t love to tear that apart, right now, right here. The thought of Harry Potter happy with anyone made Draco angry. Very angry. The Malfoy name was ruined and here was the reason for it- Weasley and Potter, happy and oblivious to everything but themselves. Typical.

Draco snorted as he started to follow them. Fagan had said he was to observe the happy couple and observe only. But that didn�t feel right to Draco. What good was watching if you couldn�t put a little fear into people and see how they�d react?

With an evil smile, Draco moved closer to the couple as a plan started to form in his mind.

***



2004-03-01 2:48 p.m.



prev|current|next